Contact Us

Stephen Harper among Albertans to receive province’s highest honour

Stephen Harper Article
Thought Leader: Stephen Harper
June 22, 2023
Former prime minister Stephen Harper is among eight people to be named to the Alberta Order of Excellence later this year.
Four others joining the Order have links to the Calgary region.
Harper served as prime minister for a decade, leading a Conservative government from 2004 until 2015.He was instrumental in the creation of the modern Conservative Party of Canada, which resulted from the merger in 2003 of the old Progressive Conservative and Reform parties.

Harper, a graduate of the University of Calgary in economics, also led the National Citizens Coalition for five years after serving as a Reform party MP from 1993 until 1997.

Also known for his love of hockey and for being something of a hockey historian, Harper published a book in 2013 about the early days of professional hockey in Toronto.

Four others from the Calgary region are receiving the honour, including:

  • Max Foran, Priddis
  • Joe Lukacs, Calgary
  • Claudette Tardif, Calgary
  • Stella Thompson, Calgary

Additionally, Jim Carter and Angus Watt out of Edmonton, along with Audrey McFarlane from Cold Lake will also receive the honour.

A ceremony will be held in Edmonton this coming October to welcome the eight new faces to the Alberta Order of Excellence, which will rise to 212 members.

“These outstanding Albertans have enriched our collective journey through their dedication, innovation and leadership. May their stories inspire us all to build vibrant and compassionate communities,” said Lt.-Gov. Salma Lakhani in a press release.

Subscribe to the WWSG newsletter.

Check Availability

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Speaker List
Share My List